Japan Day 1 – ARCADE.

IMAG0625
I was in love with our airbnb apartment and these slippers.

Day One started early. We woke up assuming that we had slept in then realised in fact it was still early morning. We started everyday with some toast with jam and a cup of water, milk or juice. It was nice having slippers available as I’m used to wearing a pair around my house in New Zealand but these ones were so comfortable, my feet would long for them after a long day of walking around. I still have dreams about how comfortable they were.

IMAG0629
I wanted to win everything!

We decided to venture off and ended up finding an arcade where there were line after line of claw type games all with cute and interesting prizes inside including cushions, plush toys, key chains, blankets, towels, wall hangings and figurines. Many characters included Yuri on Ice, Gudetama, Rilakkuma, Coca-Cola brand and so much more. You’re bound to find something you like and if not, you’ll start to fall in love with what they have to offer.

IMAG0628
Please take all of my money!

We found ourselves immediately addicted to the machines quickly learning how to play the games (we had never experienced one where you have to knock off the item instead of picking it up). I caught myself watching other people playing hoping they would win what they were going for too. There is a lot a noise which is expected from a game place like this, very similar to Time Out or Time Zone, just much brighter and less chatter.

IMAG0631
Gudetama is so handsome, so cute.

The very first machine we played on we ended up winning a plush Jolteon which gave us lots of stares once exiting the arcade. The workers were great and ended up giving me a bag to carry our loot in. It was always hard leaving an arcade because of how competitive it was becoming for me. I almost cried because of how hard I was working to win a towel covered in cute anime girls.

All of the arcades we went into had many levels including a level with beauty photo booths which we also became addicted too. Usually the top levels have slot machines as well.

If you’re visiting Ikebukuro I would advise you to visit an arcade or two and try your skills out. It’s incredibly fun and I guarantee I’ll be going back to win that towel, I hope it stays there forever waiting for me to claim it.


Leave a comment